Lower Lackawanna Valley Sanitary Authority

Due to the existence of a public health emergency due to the Coronavirus/COVID-19 and pursuant to a declared State of Emergency, the Business Office of the Lower Lackawanna Valley Sanitary Authority is hereby declared a “Restricted Area“.

Therefore, effective 10:00 AM on Monday March 16, 2020, entry by the general public into the said Restricted Area is hereby prohibited until further notice.

These restrictions shall apply until modified or suspended.  During such time all payments for services must be made via US Postal Service or by phone via credit or debit card.

If by check or money order mail to:
Lower Lackawanna Valley Sanitary Authority
Post Office Box 2067
Duryea, Pennsylvania 18642

If by credit/debit card:
Call 570-655-1665 (Business Office)
(Mastercard, Visa or Discover)

The members of the Board of Directors, Management and Staff apologize for any inconvenience caused by the refusal to accept in-person payments at this time, but believe public safety for all involved preempts convenience.

The Business Office and operational functions of the Lower Lackawanna Valley Sanitary Authority will remain open and all rate payers can reach the Lower Lackawanna Valley Sanitary Authority via phone during normal business hours.

The LLVSA is a body corporate and politic organized on August 12th, 1966 by the Boroughs of Avoca, Dupont, and Duryea, located in Luzerne County, and the Boroughs of Old Forge and Taylor, located in Lackawanna County, under the Pennsylvania Municipal Authorities Act of 1945, (the “Act”), as amended.

On April 20th, 2010, the LLVSA filed with the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania Department of State, a Certificate of Amendment extending the LLVSA Articles of Incorporation to the year 2060.

The LLVSA owns, operates, and maintains a wastewater treatment system, which consists of the following.

  • one (1) wastewater treatment plant
  • 16.47 miles of sewage interceptor piping
  • 310 sewage manhole structures
  • 14 combined sewer overflow structures
  • 1 combined sewer overflow treatment facility